ISO-NE Board elects LaFleur chair, announces committee assignments

ISO New England’s Board of Directors has elected Cheryl LaFleur as chair, replacing Kathleen Abernathy, who is retiring. LaFleur, whose term as chair will begin on October 1, 2021, joined the board in 2019 after serving for more than nine years on the Federal Energy Regulatory Commission.

Cheryl LaFleur

“I’m honored to take on this role at such a pivotal time in New England’s transition to a clean energy future,” LaFleur said. “I look forward to working with my colleagues on the board, the ISO team, and government and industry leaders to help move the region forward.”

LaFleur’s assuming the chairmanship coincides with the retirement of the board’s two previous chairs, Abernathy and Philip Shapiro. Abernathy has led the board since 2019, while Shapiro served as chair from 2014 to 2019.

“Kathleen and Phil’s leadership during a period of unprecedented change in the energy industry has put New England on the path to a cleaner, more reliable grid. We are grateful to them both for their service in multiple roles on the board, their warmth and humanity, and their invaluable contributions to our organization and the region,” said ISO New England President and CEO Gordon van Welie. ”With her wealth of knowledge and experience, Cheryl is the perfect leader to build upon this foundation. We feel very fortunate that she has committed to help us, and the region, navigate the opportunities and challenges presented by the clean energy transition.”

The ISO New England Board has also announced the following committee assignments for the upcoming term:

  • Audit and Finance Committee: Michael Curran (Chair), Steve Corneli, Catherine Flax
  • Compensation and Human Resources Committee: Roberto Denis (Chair), Caren Anders, Cheryl LaFleur, Vickie VanZandt
  • Information Technology and Cyber Security Committee: Mark Vannoy (Chair), Brook Colangelo, Michael Curran, Vickie VanZandt
  • Joint Nominating Committee: Brook Colangelo (Chair), Caren Anders, Steve Corneli, Michael Curran, Roberto Denis, Mark Vannoy, Vickie VanZandt
  • Markets Committee: Barney Rush (Chair), Steve Corneli, Michael Curran, Catherine Flax, Mark Vannoy
  • Nominating and Governance Committee: Brook Colangelo (Chair), Cheryl LaFleur, Barney Rush, Mark Vannoy
  • System Planning and Reliability Committee: Vickie VanZandt (Chair), Caren Anders, Brook Colangelo, Roberto Denis

About the board

The ISO elects its board members through a nominating process that involves representatives from the ISO New England Board of Directors, the New England Power Pool (NEPOOL), and the New England Conference of Public Utilities Commissioners. Candidates also receive the endorsement of the NEPOOL Participants Committee.

ISO New England Board members are subject to the company’s code of conduct, which includes a non-affiliation provision designed to maintain the independence of the company from participants in New England’s wholesale markets and their affiliates.

More information on ISO New England’s governance structure, as well as its Board of Directors, is available on the ISO’s website.

Read also, ISO-NE elects 2021 board slate.

Inside ISO New England
ISO leadership