« Massachusetts DEP issues final regulations to satisfy Global Warming Solutions Act Obligations | Main | New England power grid operations during August 21 partial eclipse »

US Senate approves FERC nominees

The US Senate confirmed the nominations of Neil Chatterjee and Robert Powelson on August 3, 2017, restoring a quorum to FERC for the first time since early February. Both were sworn in the following week, and President Trump named Commissioner Chatterjee as temporary Chairman on August 10.

On the same day Chatterjee and Powelson were confirmed, the President sent formal nominations of Kevin McIntyre and Richard Glick to the US Senate to fill the two remaining seats on the Commission (the White House announced its intent to nominate McIntyre and Glick several weeks prior). The US Senate Energy & Natural Resources Committee has scheduled a nomination hearing for both nominees on September 7, 2017. If confirmed, McIntyre will become Chairman, for a term expiring June 2018, as well as an additional term expiring June 2023.

Now that a quorum has been restored, the Commission’s monthly open meetings will resume. FERC has scheduled its next open meeting for September 20.

ISO New England’s External Affairs team closely tracks federal energy policy initiatives and posts updates on ISO Newswire.